End of Week Update: The First Week of School

On Wednsday things didn’t get much better. I had a total of two classes, one of which the teacher was tied up in another class. I still hadn’t bought my books as well. We ended up just watching movies, first “Think Like A Man” where a controversial book is released teaching woman how men think and turning the tables on us, than second “The Dictator” where an middle-eastern dictator experiences America for the first time. It was during our third movie “Super Bad” that Ms.Donna came in to tell us why the schedule was such a mess (seeing there was over half of us in free period).

We also got some time to play some basketball. Despite my random back pains I was able to play 2v2 with Liam, Joel and the new teacher. The teacher was just so good! Even with two people on him he just kept getting this clean, soundless shots.

On Thursday we started to having more consistent classes. I had 5/8 of my classes! There was enough free periods however to sneak in a viewing of “Battle Royale” which is a more gruesome, japanese version of hunger games. Battle Royale came first by the way. It was a good, interesting movie but was ruined by loud classmates and Liam’s inability to stop making fun of their accents (that joker!).

After school we went off to buy the books. The ones I needed where sold out, and needed to be ordered. Also bumped into Marilda there with her mom. Liam joked that Marilda pushed her down the stairs.

Friday, the end of the week! The first major event was chapel. Somehow, through too much enthusiasm, Joel and I ended up on the stage doing actions for some songs. Quite awkward.

We enjoyed a short round of cricket before going into free period. The schedule seems to be improving, with only 1 free period today. I was able to hit all the shots pitched to me by Saahil, but when the new P.E teacher pitched I was quite literally shut. down.

Math is getting a lot harder these days and I have a feeling that it isn’t going to be a cake walk from now on. It was during a long double period that I discovered from Soana that my Swatch watch was not only water proof but glows in the dark! It just made me love it even more.

The school week ended with a surprise birthday party for my friend Natasha. She arrived in white limo with her family, only to be ambushed by us! We had a buffet dinner at an african themed restaurant called the Afrikana. We had our own private hut with karaoke and drinks.

Joel and I, being the only people who live in Macau walked home from the party. After parting ways at the resevoir I decided to run home to compensate for the lack of exercise for that day. By that time it was almost midnight and it was beautifully tranquil. All I could hear was the quite pitter patter of my feet on hard, cold concrete. I turned heads, as I ran past. They most have thought I was going to mug them. Despite being in formal party clothes and my heaviest shoes I made it all the way home without stopping. It was a good way to build endurance (on a sidenote I had won the 800 metre a few years prior). I would later pay for this in the form of massive foot cramps as I attempted to sleep.

Leave a Reply

