Threes!

Threes. Its all I hear. Its all I see my friends doing at lunch. Heck, its all I DO at lunch. This mobile game has taken my school by storm.

For the unintiated, three is a puzzle games set in a 4 by 4 board. You match tiles to make larger numbers and attempt to make the largest number possible. 1’s and 2’s are combinded to make 3’s, and from there onward only doubles can be added (i.e 3 and 3 or 96 ad 96)

Threes has several factors which have driven its rise to prominence.

1. It is easy to learn, but hard to master. Many of my friends have learned the rules of the games just through observing a game or two.

2. You can’t win. Your objective is to last as long as you can, trying to get the highest score possible. It is endless and addicting.

But it is the final factor that I would like to explore more.

3. Everyone is playing it.

Social pressure was a major factor in pushing this game forward (at least in the context of my school). My friend Miguel showed it to me, and slowly everyone was playing it. Everyone was comparing scores, trading tips and playing together. Threes became a uniting social factor in which we were all involved.

Like Candy Crush and Puzzle & Dragons before it, this game has single handily stolen our collective attention. Some may say that is a bad thing, but the happiness from playing it and watching others play is most certianly not. At the very least, its better then flappy bird.

 

William

Leave a Reply

